School List

Jags Win First GBSSA Football Championship

Jags Win First GBSSA Football Championship
Posted on 11/19/2018
On a snowy J.C. Massie Field at Georgian College, The St. Joseph's Jaguars Junior Football Team won the "AA" GBSSA championship, defeating Nottawasaga Pines 9-8 in an overtime thriller!

The first quarter had both teams playing tentatively in the frozen field. But a Will Howard pass to Peter Jasek got the Jags on the board first. That 7-0 lead would hold until the 3rd quarter when the Timberwolves tied it up and it stayed that way for the remainder of regulation time. In overtime, each team is granted 2 offensive possessions. Will Howard’s single point kick on the last play in overtime was the winning point and the first GBSSA title in the Jags programs history. The Jags were led by a hard hitting and swarming defense and a young and talented offence that scored just enough to bring home the title.

Jags player of the game was #10 Kael Clarkson. Team captain are: Victor Garcia, Owen VanCasteren, Will Howard, Will Leon and Katie Wray.

sjo football